okay so the skinny jeans didn't work out for me so well …

Waterside isn’t paying their bills?

Posted on: April 23, 2008


Apparantly Waterside has some serious money problems.  Funny thing though, they aren’t paying their taxes, but they are owned by the city of Norfolk.  Strange I know.  In any event I figured I’d check the place out since their days are numbered.  It’s turned into a seedy place as I am to understand, but I like being a part of history.

Bills swap meet, or whatever that was in Virginia Beach, finally closed, well it was burnt down.  That used to be my spot, reminded me of an old roller rink, but it was actually an electronics store I think.  I’m looking to see “downtown” Virginia Beach expand past the old Gateway store out towards that way.  Some magically deal will come about where the city of Virginia Beach offers to integrate those existing stores around there vertically, perhaps even Pembroke Mall.  If they ever want to compete with downtown Norfolk they’ll have to.  GIve it some time, it would take a lot of money and a lot of opposition but I think what we’ve seen with downtown Virginia Beach is just the first phase. 

1 Response to "Waterside isn’t paying their bills?"

If Virginia Beach really wants to compete with Norfolk, they need to expand Pembroke Mall to include some decent stores, and also need to expand town center outside of their current 2 city blocks…and put in more than just restaurants…there is lots of potential for Town Center, let’s just hope Virginia Beach uses it to their advantage.

Leave a comment